Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra

Founded 1985

Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra



It was in 1985 that the musicians of three existing orchestras combined their musical qualities and experience to form the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra. Under the direction of its chief conductors Hartmut Haenchen (1985-2003) andYakov Kreizberg (2004-2011), the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra has gained an excellent reputation in the international musical world, winning a large and broadly-constituted audience in the process.

The NedPhO also plays a pioneering role in its search for new audiences and young talent; in this it continues the tradition that was inaugurated by conductor Anton Kersjes (1923-2004), chief conductor of the former Amsterdam Philharmonic Orchestra. At the beginning of the season 2011/2012,Marc Albrecht <> was appointed the chief conductor of the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra with master violinist Gordan Nikolić as the artistic director and concertmaster.

Since its foundation in 1985, the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra and its partner orchestra, theNetherlands Chamber Orchestra have performed in the majority of operas presented bythe Dutch National Opera (DNO); they have therefore contributed in no small manner to the house’s international reputation.

With more than 130 players the NedPhO is able to organise and provide successful performances of the largest orchestral projects, these including the much-lauded DNO production ofWagner’s Ring des Nibelungen (1999, revivals in 2005 and 2012-13) and the Holland Festival production of Frank Zappa’s 200 Motels (2000). 

The Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra’s high international profile guarantees that it is regularly invited to perform abroad. The orchestra made a successful tour of the important German concert halls underYakov Kreizberg in 2009 and also gave two sold-out concerts in the series Orquestas y Solistas del Mundo in the Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid. The NedPhO also made a well-received debut with soloistJulia Fischer at the BBC Proms in London in 2008.

Photo courtesy of Ronald Knapp