Auryn Quartet

Image for artist

Auryn Quartet

String Quartet

• Founded 1981


Formed in 1981, the Auryn Quartett is based in Germany. The ensemble consists of violinists Matthias Lingenfelder and Jens Oppermann, violist Stewart Eaton, and cellist Andreas Arndt, all original members who bring consistency and unified interpretations to their performances. The group won the London International Competition and the ARD Munich Competition in 1982, and followed that with the first prize of the European Broadcasting Competition in 1989. The Auryn Quartett has recorded the complete string quartets of Franz Joseph Haydn and Ludwig van Beethoven for Tacet, and has also recorded for CPO, Wergo, and Accord.